Participant score as Reds keep away from Carabao Cup scare

Player rating as Reds avoid Carabao Cup scare

Liverpool wanted a penalty shootout to beat League One aspect Derby at Anfield within the third spherical of the Carabao Cup on Wednesday evening following a 0-0 attract 90 minutes.

Jurgen Klopp closely rotated his regular Reds lineup, bringing kids like Stefan Bajcetic, Bobby Clark and Melkamu Frauendorf into the beginning XI.

Liverpool goalkeeper Caoimhin Kelleher was the hero of the evening, making three saves within the shootout because the hosts prevailed 3-2 to safe a spot within the subsequent spherical.

Disappointingly for Klopp, Derby have been fairly snug by half-time, even with out the ball for giant durations of the opening 45 minutes as Liverpool have been unable to carve out openings.

Each side proceeded to have possibilities within the second half, with Max Hen near giving Derby a shock lead quickly after the break and Rams goalkeeper Joseph Wildsmith needing to react rapidly to forestall a deflected objective from Alex Oxlade-Chamberlain.

Wildsmith additionally saved from Harvey Elliott late on, whereas Derby’s Lewis Dobbin additionally had an opportunity within the closing phases however lacked the facility to beat Kelleher.

With no winner within the regulation 90 minutes, penalties ensued, with Kelleher saving from Conor Hourihane, Craig Forsyth and the aforementioned Dobbin. Bajcetic had seen Liverpool’s first penalty saved by Wildsmith, whereas Roberto Firmino skied his effort.

However Oxlade-Chamberlain and Darwin Nunez each transformed, leaving Elliott to win it.

GK: Caoimhin Kelleher (9), RB: Calvin Ramsay (7), CB: Nat Phillips (8), CB: Joe Gomez (8), LB: Kostas Tsimikas (7), CM: Alex Oxlade-Chamberlain (7), CM: Bobby Clark (6), CM: Stefan Bajcetic (7), RW: Melkamu Frauendorf (6), ST: Layton Stewart (6), LW: Fabio Carvalho (6)

Subs: Darwin Nunez (6), Roberto Firmino (6), Harvey Elliott (7), Ben Doak (6)

GK: Joseph Wildsmith (9), RB: Korey Smith (7), CB: Eiran Cashin (8), CB: Craig Forsyth (8), LB: Haydon Roberts (7), RM: Nathaniel Mendez-Laing (7), CM: Max Hen (7), CM: Conor Hourihane (7), LM: Louie Sibley (7), ST: James Collins (6), ST: William Osula (6)

Subs: David McGoldrick (6), Lewis Dobbin (6), Liam Thompson (7), Jason Knight (N/A), Jake Rooney (N/A)

Participant of the match – Caoimhin Kelleher (Liverpool)

Leave a Reply